OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lots of produce this week! Let’s start off with my finished homemade sauerkraut.  It is delicious and I will definitely be making more. Thinking about trying a batch of kimchi next…..hmmmmm?

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This shopping trip was 2.40.  (The key on my computer with the dollar sign has died, sorry! A couple others are starting to die too.) We hardly EVER have sodas in the house, but Matt had a free 12-pack coupon and we figured we might as well use it. Happy to find these peaches in 100% juice because Autumn loves them in her snack bags and while I’m capable of canning fruit in 4 oz. jars, it’s kind of a pain and I don’t want to lose my jars. 😉

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Eleven dollars worth of organic freshly-picked local produce from the farmer’s market. Yum!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

This trip ended up at just about 3.00, thanks to overage on the vitamin C and fruit puree. 🙂

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Free grapefruit (had a raincheck)

I also grabbed another case of GF flour on Amazon for 5.50 shipped.

Total for the week: 21.90

We did have some eating out this week because DH is on vacation.  We’re basically just doing day trips from home and I’m packing some meals, but we’re finding ourselves eating out a little too. Using coupons or grabbing deals mostly though.

Some of what we used from the “pantry”:  last of the sliced ham in the freezer, some frozen (cooked from dry) chickpeas, lots of produce from the fridge, a random package of little smokies left over from something, a pre-made chicken meal, frozen (batch-cooked from dry) brown rice, the last of my home canned pears, a pasture-raised roast from the freezer, a few partial jars of jam and preserves, frozen strawberries, and more I can’t remember. I have a pasture-raised chicken from the freezer going right now to make chicken salad sandwiches for picnics.  Judging by what’s left in the freezer, this challenge is certainly going to last more than a month!

