Well, my annual Christmas biscotti factory rolled into life last night around 8:00.  I got 4 double batches of dough made up before running out of eggs.  They cuddled together for warmth in the fridge till this morning, when I pulled one out to start the long baking process.  For those of you who have never made biscotti, it goes something like this….

-Mix up the dough (by hand with a wooden spoon)

-Chill the dough

-Shape dough into logs using your hands (you have to keep them wet the whole time or it sticks)

-Bake logs for half an hour (maximum of two at a time)

-Cool logs

-Slice logs and arrange slices on parchment covered baking sheet

-Bake again for 10-12 minutes

-Pull out slices, flip them all over

-Bake again for 10-12 minutes

-Cool on racks

-Melt white or dark chocolate till smooth and drizzle over slices

-Top with almonds or toffee chips or whatever else you want to use

-Wait till chocolate cools completely

-Package up for gift giving

-And all of this makes…a little under two dozen pieces…if you’re lucky and none of it breaks or cracks or burns.

So yes, it’s a pain, but it’s what I do every Christmas.  I’m not planning on doing any other Christmas baking for gifts except for maybe some pumpkin, banana, and zucchini breads.  But compared to the biscotti, they’re about as difficult as breathing. 

 I’m experimenting this year though, and trying some peppermint biscotti.  No idea how it will turn out, but it sounds interesting and I thought all those hot chocolate drinkers out there might enjoy it.  I’m also making cranberry almond orange, almond toffee, and some of the traditional anise seed biscotti (if I find time). 

Okay, better run.  I need to put together a grocery list for Matt.  First thing on it: four dozen eggs.

